We are  an interdisciplinary network bringing together colleagues across Schools and disciplines with a shared interest or involvement in Citizen Science (CS), the Crowdsourcing of Evidence, and public participation in scientific, medical, humanities and policy research.  The Network has been funded by the Institute for Academic Development until April 2016.

The network is running events in order to:

  1. Raise the profile and improve the understanding of CSCS within the research community, including both academic and operations staff, and students;
  2. Share knowledge and experience across existing projects to develop best practice;
  3. Develop CSCS research and related activities by fostering collaboration, proposal development, training for CPD, development of methods, tools and infrastructure;
  4. Build relationships with external organisations.
Name
School/Subject
email
Interests/Experience
James Stewart, Science Technology and Innovation Studies j.k.stewart@ed.ac.uk Edinburgh Living Lab, ‘Digital Evidence’ in Science and Policy, Peer production communities, management and experience of paid and unpaid Crowd-sourced Labour,
Mark Hartswood Informatics mjh@inf.ed.ac.uk
Melissa Highton Learning, Teaching & Web Services, IS Melissa.highton@ed.ac.uk
Eugenia Rodrigues Science Technology and Innovation Studies eugenia.rodrigues@ed.ac.uk
James Reid EDINA -COBWEB Citizen Observatory Web james.reid@ed.ac.uk
Oliver Escobar Public Policy, SPS oliver.escobar@ed.ac.uk
Burkhard Schafer School of Law B.Schafer@ed.ac.uk Crowdsourcing evidence in a legal context
Tom Armitage EDINA, tom.armitage@ed.ac.uk  Fieldtrip GB data gathering tool
Ian Graham Business ian.graham@ed.ac.uk
Nicola Osborne EDINA nicola.osborne@ed.ac.uk Interested in multimedia, cultural heritage, educational (formal and informal) etc. areas, also ethical and tracing aspects.

Currently Jisc MediaHub Manager / Digital Education Manager at EDINA and part of UoE Managing Your Digital Footprints research team (also Convener of eLearning@ed community). Previously EDINA’s Social Media Officer working on COBWEB, FieldTrip GB, Will’s World Hack, AddressingHistory etc. and advocating for crowd sourcing approaches.

Stephanie (Charlie) Farley EDINA / LTW (Learning, Teaching & Web) stephanie.farley@ed.ac.uk EDINA Social Media Offer – COBWEB (Citizen Observatory Web)

LTW – Open Education Resources

Wikipedia editathons / MOOCs / Digital Literacy

Jonathan Silvertown Bio-sciences Jonathan.Silvertown@ed.ac.uk iSPOT , technology in education
Raluca Bunduchi Business raluca.bunduchi@ed.ac.uk Innovation
Dave Robertson Informatics dr@inf.ed.ac.uk
Mary Bownes VP
Sarah Cunningham-Burley Public Health scburley@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Igor Rudan Global Health Policy Igor.Rudan@ed.ac.uk
Claudia Pagliari Institute for Population Health Sciences & Informatics (MVM)

Leads the eHealth Masters programme and Interdisciplinary Research Group.

 

Social Scientist (PhDin Psychology)

 

claudia.pagliari@ed.ac.uk Analysing social behaviour on the web, with a particular focus on health-related topics and interactions (e.g. supervising PhDand masters students). Understanding ‘social machines’ ,or how human and software platforms co-create purpose and value (ESRC SOCIAMcollaboration with Southampton, Oxford, Edinburgh). Engaging citizens in strategic decision making about technology and research policies and in shaping the governance of data intensiveresearch initiatives, examining attitudes and acceptability, building inclusive and honest public engagement strategies (ESRC Administrative Data Research Centre for Scotland & ADN-UK; MRC Farr eHealth Research Centre for Scotland & Farr UK; Scottish Informatics Linkage Research Collaboration public engagement activities). Enhancing patient-doctor partnership and citizen self-care through personalisation of eHealth tools, examining the safety and ethics of digital health (e.g. EC project on Avatars for depression; CSO programme on tele-monitoring, mobile health research and consultancy). Understanding the global potential of digital health and research services (e.g Global Health Workforce Council member; Director MSc in Global eHealth, External Examiner Health Data Sciences and Global Psychology, consultant to WHO, EC, TSB etc, Global Health Academy board member.). Generally interested in issues around the scientific potential and societal implications of big data and near hand digital technologies (apps etc.) and in the interaction between humans and digital technologies.
Jan Webb Sociology Jan.Webb@ed.ac.uk Community energy
William Mackaness Geo-Sciences william.mackaness@ed.ac.uk
Chris Speed Design Informatics, ECA chris.speed@ed.ac.uk
Ewan Klein Informatics ewan@inf.ed.ac.uk Open Data, education in data production and use, Edinburgh Living Lab
Robin Williams Science Technology and Innovation r.williams@ed.ac.uk
Penny Travlou Architecture, ECA p.travelou@ed.ac.uk Artists and Activists
Steve Yearley Science Technology and Innovation, SPS steve.yearley@ed.ac.uk Science Policy
Ally Phillimore Institute of Evolutionary Biology aphillim@staffmail.ed.ac.uk The Track A Tree citizen ecology project (http://trackatree.bio.ed.ac.uk/) and work with the UK Phenology Network.
Simon Kirby Linguistics/Language Evolution simon.kirby@ed.ac.uk Experiments using Crowdsourced participants
Ruth Wolstenholme SNIFFER ruth@sniffer.org.uk
Jenny Culbertson Linguistics jennifer.culbertson@gmail.com
Nigel Goddard Informatics nigel.goddard@ed.ac.uk
 Patricia Erskine CHSS patricia.erskine@ed.ac.uk
 Iona Beange ibeange@staffmail.ed.ac.uk Citizen Engagement in Science
 Douglas Houston

Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology

School of Biological Sciences

DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk

Staff profile

Citizen science – helping create a resource for scientists fighting malaria

My research focus is on computational approaches to drug discovery

I am interested in combining citizen science with distributed computing for both research and teaching purposes.

See http://fold.it/portal/ for an example of the sort of thing I’d like to achieve (only without the gamification)

FoldIt game’s next play: crowdsourcing better drug design [Nature]

Robert Cubey

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh r.cubey@rbge.org.uk Plant Records Officer.

Crowdsourcing the digitisation and geolocation of the 3 million plant specimen & 64 thousand living plants at the Botanic Garden

Current participation in Herbarium at Home (Transcription of specimen labels)

Data wrangler for RBGE Phenology projects (Volunteer data collection)

Leader of the participation project to photograph the plants of the RBGE. (results – Sorbus)

Sub-task leader in EU project – SYNTHEYS 3 (JRA) -– Moving from physical to digital collections. Objective 3 – Crowdsourcing metadata enrichment of digital images.

Heather Rea Beltane Public Engagement Network h.j.rea@ed.ac.uk The Beltane Network is interested in how Citizen Science and Crowd sourcing is used to engage, involve and enable publics with research.
Richard Roger Social History Richard.Rodger@ed.ac.uk Mapping Edinburgh’s Social History (MESH); Open Street Map;
Richard Williams ECA, Visual Arts Research Institute Citizen Curation
Annabel Cooper ECCI Annabel.Cooper@ed.ac.uk Engagement in Sustainability and engagement low carbon initiatives
Siobhan Dunn ECCI sdunn2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk Engagement in Sustainability and engagement low carbon initiatives
Fadhila Mazanderani Science Technology and Innovation Studies F.Mazanderani@ed.ac.uk Experience as evidence in medicine, internet health communities
Michael Begg IS LTW michael.begg@ed.ac.uk Recently appointed Research Support Manager within IS LTW with a remit “to provide vision and strategic leadership in the discovery, design and further development of new services within the University’s Learning, Teaching and Web Division, particularly in the area of research support technologies”
Jamie Cross Global Academies – SPS jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk Innovation in Development, community participation
Arno Verhoeven School of Design/ECA a.verhoeven@ed.ac.uk Edinburgh Living Lab; design for social change; participatory networks; co-creation with communities;  design in the wild;
Ann Bruce

 

STIS, SPS ann.bruce@ed.ac.uk Science Communication

 

Sian Bayne Education sian.bayne@ed.ac.uk Digital Education
Jonathan Henderson Information Services jonathan.henderson@ed.ac.uk Information Services (and School of Geosciences)
Ben Butchart EDINA b.butchart@ed.ac.uk Fieldtrip GB and mobile engineering. Geospatial technology solutions.
Christine Tansey Institute of Evolutionary Biology C.J.Tansey@sms.ed.ac.uk Track a Tree – citizen ecology to record spring in UK woodlands.
Run with the support of the Woodland Trust/ UK Phenology Network
Susie Greig Learning, Teaching & Web Services, IS s.greig@ed.ac.uk Social and Cloud Based Learning and Teaching: http://edin.ac/1cHRslP
Jeremy Knox Education jeremy.knox@ed.ac.uk Digital Education, MOOCs, open education
Sophie Ilson CPHS sophie.ilson@ed.ac.ukc PhD in ‘Public Trust of Government Data’ – Aiming to use crowdsourcing as a method of researching public perspectives
Gavin Willshaw Information Services, Library & University Collections gavin.willshaw@ed.ac.uk Metadata Games tagging project http://librarylabs.ed.ac.uk/
Claire Knowles Information Services, Library & University Collections claire.knowles@ed.ac.uk Metadata Games tagging project http://librarylabs.ed.ac.uk/

 

 

Kate Orton-Johnson SSPS Sociology k.orton-johnson@ed.ac.uk Digital culture
Gil Viry SSPS Sociology gil.viry@ed.ac.uk social networks, spatial mobilities, family relationships
Jean Carletta Informatics J.Carletta@ed.ac.uk HeatHack – www.heathack.org – a community/university collaboration in which community experience in monitoring energy efficiency and thermal comfort in community spaces raises interesting research issues in a wide range of disciplines
Amy Guy Informatics Amy.Guy@ed.ac.uk Decentralised [social] web systems, personal data ownership, linked data, open data, online creative communities
Michael Rovatsos Informatics Michael.Rovatsos@ed.ac.uk Hybrid (human-machine) collective intelligence, social computations, human-based computation, human-friendly AI, algorithm-induced social stratification, social sorting
Anouk Lang English (LLC) anouk.lang@ed.ac.uk Digital humanities; no research projects at present which employ crowdsourcing, but in discussion with colleague and collaborators about setting some up which will involve participants transcribing/georeferencing sources